Neil Halstead at the Lizard Lounge

Neil Halstead of Slowdive and Mojave 3 played on Friday November 14, 2008 at the Lizard Lounge in Cambridge. I was planning on going to another show that night, and heard of his upcoming show at the last minute. I love his new album “Oh! Mighty Engine”, so after a short debate decided to head to Neil’s show. It was an early (7:30pm) show and I made it to the Lizard on time. The room was not completely full and that was fine with me. I grabbed a good spot by the bar, ordered a pint and Neil’s beautiful music filled the room. Everybody was quiet and attentive. Neil had a coughing fit at some point and declared “I need a smoke”. He got some whiskey and water instead and thankfully did not lose his voice. For some of the songs he was joined by a bassist and another guitarist, who played the electric mandolin when it was time for my favorite “A Gentle Heart”. Unfortunately I did not have my camera with me, but this is a live version of the song they did in San Francisco.

It was a touching, beautiful show!

One thought on “Neil Halstead at the Lizard Lounge

  1. Pingback: Neil Halstead at the Lizard Lounge « Nine Dots Boston: Boston Arts Outside The Box

Leave a comment