Naked

Back in October during the Boston Book Festival, I bought a copy of Steve Almond’s book “Rock and Roll Will Save Your Life”. He had just emceed the Boston Revue event and he was hilarious. The authors featured at the Boston Revue were signing books after the event, so I decided to have my copy signed by Almond. We chatted for a little bit, he asked my name and then signed my copy with the following note:

It was the funniest thing I had seen in a while. “Please read this book NAKED & DANCE!” Who, but Almond would sign a book with such a crazy funny note?!

Fast forward to last Sunday, I found myself waiting in the checkout line looking at the merchandise placed along the line. Chocolates, cooking books, sauces, children’s books, more specialty chocolate. And then a bright green box with the words “Get Naked” popped into my field of vision.  I had to do a double take, read the text on the box again and then take a picture:

Now, I’m not sure if this qualifies as smart marketing, but it sure is smart product packaging. It is eye-catching. Is it smart that this being dog food appears to be a secondary issue in the presentation? I spent time on this product: first I read “Get Naked”, then “enjoy life” and then the small font finally announcing what product it is: a “simple & honest dog treat.” I wondered what the brand name was, was it the “Get Naked” part? I hadn’t heard of it before. The packaging grabbed my attention, but I don’t own a dog, so I didn’t buy the product. But I’m sure the funny message has helped sell plenty of dog food. The question that still remains, however, is who the “get naked” message is directed to: the dog, the dog owner, or the people waiting in the checkout line…

Leave a Reply

