An Ignominious Death

This morning I read this story on BBC News: “‘Son’ held over stabbing of woman, 100, in Whitechapel.  A man believed to be the son of a 100-year-old woman found stabbed to death at her home in east London has been arrested by police.” And for some reason it made me feel particularly sad.

I don’t know this woman. I wouldn’t even touch the fact that her alleged son might be the murderer. But I can tell in 100 years living she has survived two world wars, and must have survived personal tragedies, difficulties and sadness, whose enormity I am absolutely unaware of. I do know that after living for 100 years she’s killed by stabbing. It just doesn’t sound fair. Of course no violent death is fair, but it feels ignominious. I would think that this elderly person would not deserve a violent death. I think that she would deserve a peaceful, natural death. Rest in peace.

Leave a Reply

