Conclusions

1. Cooking takes away the joy of eating.

2. Two-minute songs are brilliant, even if they suck.

3. The majority of people look good on paper; in person they are boredom personified.

4. “Familiarity breeds contempt”. Indeed.

5. People tend to overuse and abuse the words “irony” and “obscurity”.

6. An inactive, uninvolved person talking about hipness and coolness is pretentious.

7. When you have a blog dedicated to something specific, say music, live music shows, theater or films, you are sort of expected to -respectively- listen and discover new music, go to live shows, attend plays, and actually watch movies, and then write about your experience and opinion. So when your blog just repeats and recycles OTHER reviews and analyses, it is – how shall I put it?- meaningless.

8. Generalizations suck.

4 thoughts on “Conclusions

  1. 1. A potent half-truth. (I can’t even smell what I’m cooking after a while)
    2. Treading on sometimes shaky, sometimes steady ground here…depending upon how painful those two minutes are.
    3. Resumes
    4. breeds like lice
    5. Ironically, I’m one of those obscure folks who rarely uses either word much, preferring to spell out and elucidate the “ironic” and to use “oblique,” “opaque” and “obfuscate” in lieu of “obscurity” — (now that I’ve qualified myself a bit, what the hell are you talking about?)
    6. See my reply to #5 sans the parenthetical bit
    7. If so, that percentage of the blogosphere–calculated with a reasonable measure of confidence–would likely well exceeds 50% recycled material. Leads one to think that the majority of bloggers are unwittingly nihilistic.
    8. Please be specific. Footnotes and bibliography a plus.

  2. 1. Basically I hate cooking.
    2. Never suffered too much by a two-minute song
    3. yes; and personal ads
    4. inevitable disappointment
    5. Ha! tmb, I love the ironic obscurity of your comment 😉 Sounds like you’re an English major…

    7. i r o n i c a l l y so
    8. see conclusions 1-7

  3. 1. “Cooking takes away the joy of eating.” For you maybe…I see it as foreplay for the stomach.

    2. “Two-minute songs are brilliant, even if they suck.” A two minute song that sucks feels like four minutes, which is not brilliant, but it does make me thankful it’s not actually four minutes, ’cause then it’d feel like eight.

    3. “The majority of people look good on paper; in person they are boredom personified.” SWM, professional, interested in art, film, music and anything else you are! Wannna come over and watch American Idol with me? I have seasons 1-3 on DVD!

    4. “Familiarity breeds contempt”. Except in the case of baby-back ribs.

    5. “People tend to overuse and abuse the words “irony” and “obscurity”.”
    Whatever happened to Alanis Morrisette?

    6. “An inactive, uninvolved person talking about hipness and coolness is pretentious.” Puh-lease! Tell me about it! I’m watching “The Daily Show” on my couch right now. I Tivo it everyday! (Wanna come over?)

    7. “When you have a blog dedicated to something specific, say music, live music shows, theater or films, you are sort of expected to -respectively- listen and discover new music, go to live shows, attend plays, and actually watch movies, and then write about your experience and opinion. So when your blog just repeats and recycles OTHER reviews and analyses, it is – how shall I put it?- meaningless.”

    My thoughts exactly! How do I reblog this?

    8. “Generalizations suck.” Anybody who would say such a thing has nothing of value to say and is a total dork!

  4. @~B
    1. In this case I’d say no need for foreplay.
    2. Glad you’re good at math and glad you agree.
    3. I ❤ American Idol
    4. Ha! It’s so ironic that I don’t eat meat…
    5. Who?
    6. This is the 2nd time u’re asking me to came over.
    7. reblogger.com the next big thing
    8. I don’t think I’ve been called a dork before, cool!

Leave a Reply

