Cold Day Rambling

I am amazed with the people riding their bikes in 10F weather. How can they do it?! I have trouble breathing this cold air while standing, I can’t imagine breathing this air while biking. Actually, I don’t know, maybe I should give it a try. And then die and prove my point that I am not designed for this kind of weather. That would be brilliant.

Last night I saw the movie “Revolutionary Road”. Wow, yeah, it was very interesting watching Kate Winslet and Leonardo DiCaprio acting… Or trying to act. I didn’t sympathize with any of the characters, I didn’t care about them. That was a bad case of a movie with severe passion-deficiency syndrome. Why do they even bother making crappy movies like this?

The “Wrestler” is coming to the Somerville Theater, thank God, so I don’t have to endure the depressing ambiance of the only other theater in the area that’s been showing it. I’m looking forward to watching Marisa Tomei, and the rest of the movie, of course.

I am taking more drawing classes. I’m psyched.

Gail Collins is becoming my favourite Op-Ed columnist of the NYTimes. Now, whenever I declare my infatuation with something or someone, that particular something or someone magically turns into a major disappointment. I don’t know why this happens, I can’t explain it. So, Collins, please stay cool. These are excerpts from today’s column, “He’s Leaving. Really”, which is about Bush really leaving, and is hilarious:

The man has been saying goodbye for so long, he’s come to resemble one of those reconstituted rock bands that have been on a farewell tour since 1982.

So far, the Bush farewell appearances have not drawn a lot of rave reviews. (Most striking, perhaps, was a critique of that final press conference from Ted Anthony of The Associated Press: “It all felt strangely intimate and, occasionally, uncomfortable, in the manner of seeing a plumber wearing jeans that ride too low.”) A Gallup poll did find that his approval rating had risen slightly since they began, but this was probably due to enthusiasm for the part about his going away.

“Sometimes you misunderestimated me,” Bush told the Washington press corps.

3 thoughts on “Cold Day Rambling

  1. Imagine if I had never called you to meet up, you would never have had such an interesting/entertaining night! Thanks J-guy!
    oh…BTW, sorry! I’ll make it up to you, I promise!

Leave a Reply

