Synchronicity Won’t Help the Socially Awkward

Recently I got this e-mail that Dan Hirsch joined the World Music/CRASHarts staff, which left me wondering who’s the new concert coordinator at the MFA. Hirsch booked some of the coolest acts for the MFA, and off the top of my head I remember seeing there Cat Power, Vampire Weekend, Jon Langford… I think you can tell Hirsch’s influence on the upcoming World Music/CRASHarts concert lineup: Department of Eagles, Antony and the Johnsons, Tindersticks, Dean and Britta, the Idan Raichel Project, the Bad Plus and the Books. For a week now, I’ve been trying to see who’s the new concert coordinator for the MFA, but I’ve been unable to find an announcement.

Last night I went to the Somerville Theater and saw the swedish vampire movie “Let the Right One In”, which by the way I really liked. I was kinda late for the movie and sit four seats away from somebody who kept sniffing non-stop. So I moved some rows back and in the end I realized I was sitting behind… Dan Hirsch. I wanted to talk to him, and tell him how much I enjoy the cool shows he’s organizing, congratulate him for the new job, and ask him if he knows who replaced him at the MFA. But at this point what was running through my mind, was “OMG, it’s Hirsch, oh, man, what do I say, how do I ask, etc etc”. So, no, I didn’t talk to him. I couldn’t do it. The End.

So, if you are like me and join the ranks of the socially awkward, you know that the odds of sitting behind  Hirsch right when you want to talk to him are FAR better than the odds of doing the actual talking. I mean, REALLY, what is my problem???

Leave a Reply

